About Us

Board of Directors

Our Board of Directors provides overall management and policy direction. A board member may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms.

  • Dan Allosso, President
  • Cecelia McKeig, President-Elect
  • Charlene Sturk, Treasurer
  • Chris Muller, Secretary
  • Jim Aakhus
  • Andy Mack
  • Amy Karwoski
  • Catherine Marchand
  • Leo Soukup
  • Josh Peterson, Liaison, City of Bemidji
  • John Ellis, Liaison, Bemidji State University
  • Emily Thabes, Executive Director

Join the Board of Directors

Click to download an application to join our board!

Board of Directors Responsibilities

Click to download our Board Member Roles & Responsibilities

Mission and Values

The mission of Beltrami County Historical Society is to collect, preserve, and share the history of the people, land, and stories of Beltrami County to honor our past, to understand our present, and to build our future.


  • Continuity
  • Leadership
  • Outreach
  • Stewardship
  • Teamwork

Code of Ethics

Click to view our Code of Ethics, adopted September 2021.

Land Acknowledgement

We acknowledge that Beltrami County Historical Society is located on land that is the current and ancestral homeland of the Ojibwe and Dakota. We acknowledge the painful history of genocide, forced assimilation, and efforts to alienate the Indigenous inhabitants from their territory here. We honor and respect the many diverse Indigenous peoples who still connect to this land and retain tribal sovereignty, treaty rights, and cultural resilience. Indigenous people are spiritual and physical caretakers of this land to which we all belong. Beltrami County Historical Society respects these sacred lands, stands with the community members from these Nations, and will fight injustice in all its forms.